Name dedication ceremony at Armed Forces Memorial

01 September 2014

Monday 1 September 2014

A ceremony to remember and give thanks to those who gave their lives in the Service of their country in 2013 took place at National Memorial Arboretum on Monday 1 September 2014.

The private service, led by Bishop John Kirkham - Armed Forces Memorial Trustee and former Bishop to the Armed Forces - was for the families of those who died in Service during 2013. Mr Ian Dudson CBE, Her Majesty's Lord Lieutenant of Staffordshire; Lord John Astor of Hever DL, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Defence and senior military representatives were also in attendance.

The engraver, Nick Hindle, added the 17 new names to the Portland Stone walls of the Armed Forces Memorial during May of this year. The Memorial was dedicated in the presence of HM The Queen in 2007 and is the UK's tribute to the 16,000 men and women who have been killed on duty or as a result of terrorist action since 1948. 

All 17 names were read out during the service. Afterwards the families were invited to lay wreaths at the base of the Armed Forces Memorial's walls.

Names of those who died in Service during 2013


  • Richard Walker 
  • David Shaw 
  • N O Guya 
  • Jamie Webb 
  • Samuel Flint 
  • Robert Hetherington 
  • William Savage 
  • Lee Rigby 
  • Edward Maher 


Army (cont)

  • Craig Roberts
  • James Dunsby
  • Michael Ihemere
  • James Brynin
  • Ian Fisher
  • Richard Holloway
  • Royal Air Force
  • Frances Capps
  • Rimon Than

Naming ceremony audience

Families at the naming ceremony